So You Want To Be A Photographer

I remember when I first decided I wanted to be a photographer.

full

I’d been doing “shoots” my whole life. Any chance to get my friends together to dress up and take pictures with my point and shoot I would. Back then it was just for a cool myspace profile… I was allll about that profile pic… but once I was in college I realized it was something I really really loved to do, and I wanted to succeed at it.

 

Naturally, I was COMPLETELY clueless on how to actually become a photographer.. so I mustered up the courage to ask someone local who I really admired what fancy camera they used and how they created the images that they captured.

I would love to say that they were kind enough to steer me in some form of direction, but honestly… they were kind of a jerk. They proceeded onto going on a public rant about how it wasn’t about the equipment, and find your own dang style and figure it out for yourself… and although some of what they said was true, it certainly wasn’t what I was expecting to hear.

 

So-  I had to do it the hard way and teach myself from the ground up. No classes, no teachers, no mentor… just me, my camera, and whatever I could find on the internet.

 

I’ve been asked quite a few times, ” If you could go back to when you first started photography, what would you tell yourself?” and this is what it would be:

 

  1. Get Legit. And by get legit, I mean get legal. First and foremost, if you are charging money for your services.. you need to be registered and paying taxes. I DIDN’T DO THIS WHEN I FIRST STARTED AND I SERIOUSLY REGRET IT. Not only is it illegal, but it also develops incredibly poor habits later down the road when you get busy. It makes it so much harder to organize your spreadsheets, keep track of your income and expenses, and realistically know where you are in your finances.
  2.  Understand that although taking photos may be fun, it’s only 1/3 of what it really means to be a photographer. To truly go beyond the hobbyist label, you HAVE to see it first as a business. This means making the tough calls, saying no, building price sheets, managing clients, responding to emails, being interactive on your social media platforms, continuing education and training, maintaining your equipment, organizing your calendar and so on and so forth.
  3. Build a business plan. Do you want to own your own studio someday? Great! Do you want to be a mentor or teacher? Fantastic. Do you want the flexibility to create your own schedule and be your own boss? Awesome! Make a plan. Set goals. Try to keep them. “A man without vision will perish.” If you don’t see yourself somewhere, you’ll find yourself aimlessly wandering without purpose.
  4. Invest in a few pieces of quality equipment vs lots of subpar items to make you look like you know what you’re doing.  This is one piece of advice I remember hearing in my early years, but not really understanding because I didn’t really understand how my camera worked. All I knew was that I wanted that smooth backround that all the pros had in their pictures. If you have a lower budget, invest in a used body and decent prime lens. My first prime lens was the 50mm 1.4 and I absolutely fell in love. I immediately saw a difference in my work once I had the ability to shoot wide open and create the images I had always dreamed of capturing.
  5. Stay humble. Never for a second get to thinking that you’ve “Made It” or that you have it all together. This industry is CONSTANTLY changing… and there will always be someone better, more successful, more business saavy than you. I can’t tell you how harmful it is for yourself and for your business to get into the habit of not taking constructive critisiscm and honestly respecting and considering the input of people who may just know a little more than you. After that first year I had a period of time where I was pretty darn proud of my work, and now looking back good gracious I had so much to learn.
  6. Try not to find all of your inspiration from other photographers. Find something other than other photos that inspires you. For me it’s fashion and film. I absolutely love the movies and find my mind reeling with ideas after each time I watch something.
  7. Lastly, understand that it takes time. It takes time to build a business, it takes time to find your style, it takes time to gain the attention of your target market and sometimes it’s super frustrating and difficult and down right tiring. You’ll work more than your average 9-5 job…. but if you love it… if you love it like I do, the sacrifice and hard work will be worth it.

Leave a comment