A Word From the Other Side of the Fence

IMG_6897.jpg

A few years ago if you would’ve asked me “What are some of your biggest life goals?” or “What are some of the major things you’d like to achieve in the next 10 years?” I wouldve said:

I want to be a mom.

I want to live in a house.

I want to have travelled somewhere.

I want to be debt free.

I want to be able to work from home.

I want to be a full time photographer.

I want to be able to specialize in child photography. (Which I didn’t actually think was a true attainable reality at the time.)

 

Welp….. I’m here. I’ve made it across that fence and almost every single one of those goals have been met and exceeded even my day dream expectations. You know what? It’s not as satisfying as I thought…. because with every accomplished goal came another goal that’s a little more difficult to attain… and Im positive that’s how it will continue for the rest of my life. In one sense… It’s a motivator. It keeps me pushing for that next level and that’s wonderful but in another sense it made me realize that sometimes we push through life just trying to get to the other side…. and once we do we realize we are met with just another fence to climb. It’s then that you are offered two choices.

 

  1. Get complacent and depressed.
  2. Realize what true happiness and satisfaction is.

 

Just like in weight loss, I’ve heard people say time and time again. “Once I hit _____ pounds, I’ll be so happy”… and then they work hard, they put in the hours, they sacrifice, they say no to the garbage food they loved… and they hit that goal and suddenly they are faced with another. “Once I get toned… then I’ll be happy”…. and then they get toned and the cycle continues. All great goals…. but that invisible line of “Once this happens….. then I’ll be happy” doesn’t actually exist.

So… when you are faced with your fence… are you weighing all your happiness on achieving another set of goals? Are you just living for the next high? Have you found that place deep inside you that doesn’t rely on successes and failures to be truly joyful in your life?

Leave a comment