Professional Camera vs Smart Phone

Alright… I’m keeping this simple and to the point. I’ve seen blog posts, articles, and all sorts of arguments debating whether or not it’s worth it to hire a professional for your photographs. I’ve seen it say “Smart phones are so advanced now, it’s like having a professional camera wherever you go.” Although I cannot negate the fact that they have infact come very very far in technology, and I absolutely know that the definition of a “good” photo is absolutely relative… I wanted to put it to the test. So I brought out my best. I wanted to create the ideal circumstance, so I dressed up the subject in a beautifully styled gown, brought out my professional lighting equipment, and did side by side comparisons of my Canon 5d MarkII and my smartphone. (Particularly the Iphone 6S.) I used the EXACT actions and steps in the editing process… and as much as I wanted to tweak things to make it not look so gosh darn awful…. I used the same EXACT instagram filter (which I chose based on studies that said it was the most used instagram filter in your basic free filters that are included.) So I’ll just leave this right here…. you can form a decision of your own.

 

This is the start. SOOC (Straight Out Of Camera)…. they haven’t been messed with whatsoever. Exact lighting. Same distance from me to the subject. Very slight difference in angle due to the wiggly little princess.. but otherwise… Same conditions.

BLOG SOOC.jpg

 

Here are both of the images after some basic photoshop editing. Image cropped, skin smoothed, eyes brightened, backround slightly smoothed.

BLOG SIDE BY SIDE.jpg

Close up….

BLOG UP CLOSE.jpg

These are the images edited with the LO-FI instagram filter from SOOC. This is the part where I start to cringe….

instagram edit

This is the side by side of the professional camera image that was edited with photoshop, then applied the lo-fi filter. (Yes…. this happens…. this happens A LOT)

PROPHOTO WITH FILTER

And lastly… the side by side of the photoshop edited smart phone picture with the LO-FI filter applied.

INSTAGRAMVSPHOTOSHOPIPHONE.jpg

 

 

Leave a comment