(Temporary) In Home Studio DIY

This past holiday season was a crazy one to say the least. Aside from being incredibly busy business wise, my husband and I decided it was finally time to move into a home. (We had been in a tiny 2 bedroom apartment with our two babies… and it was NOT happening)  After having to reschedule too many shoots due to weather, we decided to come up with a solution to flip our garage into my new in home studio. We are renters currently, so we needed to make sure everything we did was 100% reversible! Although I’m not 100% complete yet, would love to finish painting the faux brick across the wall and I am going to be needing a two tier clothing rack for all my styling… I have to say I’m pretty excited with the transformation ❤ (And it cost me less than $300 to do!)

This was before… blegh. Gross… but pretty standard.

before2.JPG

 

This is mid progress.. already such a difference right??? We used sheet vinyl from Lowes for the floor (cost $147 for a 12×20 piece thanks to a small dent they discounted the whole piece by 30%!) .The curtains are hung from a conduit pipe (cost $4), drape hangers (cost $6), and white tablecloths ($6 a piece on sale at target, and I hung 7 to cover the span of the garage). The garage door I wanted the option to make use of the natural light I had available, so I placed grommets on a king size jersey knit sheet and stretched it across the frame of the door. Taa daa! Giant softbox!

midprogress.JPG

 

This is my studio in its current state! Vintage couch for seating, lovely dresses for styling, my Wescott PLM system (continuous spider light which I love),  and all the possibilities in the world for me to create and dream up new studio set ups ❤

after.jpg

 

Eventually I would love to have my own storefront, but for now this is working splendidly and I’m so thrilled to have the opportunity to create wonderful new things for my clients!

 

One thought on “(Temporary) In Home Studio DIY

  1. Don’t know if I commented previously Amy, but what a complete gorgeous change!!! This is a wonderful working area, until the day comes when you cannot cope here anymore and have to move to larger premises. May the Lord continue to bless you with an abundance of work and the strength to fulfill it all. Much love from us both. xxxx

    Like

Leave a comment